Charged with reckless driving?
Driving recklessly is a Class 1 offense in Virginia, punishable by up to 12 months in prison and a $2,500 fine. It's different than just your average speeding ticket. It is codified as such in the Virginia Code: § 46.2-852. reckless driving; general rule. Regardless of the legal speed limit, any driver who drives a vehicle on a freeway recklessly or at high speed or in a manner that endangers life, limb or property is guiltyreckless driving in Fairfax. The other chiefly charged reckless driving is speed. § 46.2-862. exceed speed. A person is guilty of reckless driving if he or she drives a motor vehicle on the Commonwealth's motorways (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit, or (ii) above eighty miles per hour, whatever the applicable speed limit . Speeding for freeway and traffic conditions is a form of reckless driving in Virginia and can result in a driver's license suspension. A Fairfax reckless driving attorney can greatly reduce your chances of getting a bad driver's license for this traffic offense.
How a Fairfax Reckless Driving Attorney Can Save Your Driving Record
Have you been accused of reckless driving? Getting a Fairfax County record for reckless driving can be very stressful. Reckless driving can increase your insurance premiums and cause you to lose points on your driver's license, negatively affecting your driving record. Fairfax County is strict when it comes to being charged with reckless driving. Therefore, you need an experienced and aggressive reckless driving attorney in Fairfax who will do everything in his power to dismiss reckless driving charges outright or reduce the charge to a regular speeding ticket. Jad Sarsour, a highly experienced reckless driving attorney in Fairfax, has handled countless reckless driving cases in court and will provide you with the best possible outcome for your case. Contact us today for a free consultation on any traffic offense or traffic violation charges.
Fairfax County reckless driving attorney Jad Sarsour
You've probably been charged with reckless driving in Fairfax if you found this page. Contact us, ourFairfax County reckless driving attorney, Jad Sarsour, for a free consultation. He likes to talk on the phone or in person; It only takes a few minutes.
- To schedule or request a free phone consultation: Call (571)-348-3578
- For online appointments, please fill out the contact form:Visit our contact page.
- Unser Standort: 10521 Judicial Drive Suite 300 Fairfax, VA 22030
Attorney Jad Sarsour can represent your case in Fairfax County for areckless driving case in Virginia.
Fairfax County reckless drivingdefense
Questions about the Fairfax County, VA reckless driving attorney:
- Will my license be suspended?
- Is it possible that I will be charged with something else?
- Should I take a driving course before my court date?
- What can I do before the court date to improve my score?
- Can or will I be punished?
- can i go to jail
At work with reckless drivingLawyer, you have a greater chance of getting a plea. Here are some examples of how they can help:
- avoid a criminal conviction on your record;
- cause far fewer DMV failure points;
- avoid jail time
- retain driving privileges
- significant risk of a $2,500 fine.
Forms of reckless driving in Virginia
The most common form of reckless driving through speed is exceeding the speed limit by 20+.
46.2-862. A person is guilty of reckless driving if he/she drives a motor vehicle on the Commonwealth's motorways (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more above the applicable speed limit, or (ii) above eighty miles per hour, regardless of the applicable speed limit .
Operating a vehicle in a manner that generally endangers others is considered reckless driving.
46.2-852. reckless driving; General Rule – Regardless of the speed limit permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle recklessly on a highway or at a speed or in a manner that endangers the life, limb, or property of another person is guilty of reckless driving.
Passing a stopped properly equipped school bus is reckless driving.
46.2-859. A person is guilty of reckless driving if they fail to stop when approaching from any direction a school bus that is stopping on a freeway, private road, or school driveway to pick up or release children, the elderly, the mentally or physically challenged. A person must remain stopped until everyone has exited the freeway, private road, or school driveway and the bus is started. However, the driver of a vehicle need not stop when approaching a school bus if the school bus is stopped in the other lane of a divided highway, slip road, or driveway. In particular, if the other lane, slip road or driveway is separated from the road on which the vehicle is operating by a physical barrier or unpaved area. The driver of a car is also not required to stop when approaching a school bus that is loading or unloading passengers to or from property immediately adjacent to a school if the driver is directed by a law enforcement officer or other duly authorized uniformed school transit officer to the school bus overtake. This section applies to school buses equipped with warning devices required by 46.2-1090 and painted yellow with the words "School Bus" in black letters at least 8 inches high on the front and rear. Only school buses painted yellow and equipped with the prescribed lettering and warning devices may be marked.
Overtaking/overtaking an emergency vehicle
46.2-829. On the approach of an emergency vehicle, as defined in 46.2-920, the emission of an audible signal by a siren, exhaust whistle or air horn designed to give automatic intermittent signals and the display of a flashing, flashing or alternating emergency light or -lightly provided 46.2-1022 through 1024. The driver of any other vehicle must proceed as quickly as traffic and other road conditions permit to the nearest edge of the carriageway, clear of any intersection of highways, stop and remain there. Unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer, until the emergency vehicle has passed. This provision does not relieve drivers of their duty to drive with regard to the safety of all persons using the road to which the right of way is to be given. Furthermore, it does not protect the driver of such a vehicle from the consequences of arbitrarily exercising such right-of-way. Violation of this section will be considered a failure to give way. However, any violation of this section includes overtaking or overtaking a moving emergency vehicle that sounds an audible signal and displays activated warning lights as provided in this section and constitutes reckless driving, punishable under 46.2-868.
Racing traffic violations and criminal offenses explained
46.2-865.Any person who participates in a race between two or more motor vehicles on the Commonwealth highways is guilty of traffic violations unless authorized by the property owner or his agent. This provision also applies to any driveway or premises of a church, school, recreational facility or commercial property open to the public in the Commonwealth. If a person is convicted of reckless driving under this section, that person's driver's license will be suspended by the court for at least six months in addition to any other penalties provided by law. In a conviction case, the court will order the surrender of that license to the court, where it will be disposed of in accordance with Rules 46.2-398.
46.2-865.1.injuring or causing the death of another while participating in a race; Punish.
- Any person who participates in a race in violation of 46.2-865 in a manner so gross, wanton, and culpable as to show a reckless disregard for human life:
- causing grievous bodily harm to another person not involved in violating 46.2-865 is guilty of a Class 6 felony; or
- causing the death of another person is guilty of an offense punishable by imprisonment for a term of not less than one year and not more than 20 years, of which one year is the mandatory minimum term of imprisonment.
- After a conviction, the court suspends that person's driver's license for at least one year or more than three years and orders the license to be returned under the terms of Virginia Code Section 46.2-398. These charges can result in a prison sentence and a reckless driving conviction.
Driving too fast for the traffic conditions
Operating a vehicle that is too fast for highway and traffic conditions is a form of Fairfax reckless driving. Contrary to this charge, most Virginia reckless driving cases tend to be strictly speed-related. Our Fairfax County VA andCriminal law firm in North VAwill sometimes see this reckless driving case after car crash. But for this particular charge, prosecutors must demonstrate that the speed was unreasonable at the time of the crime. Howelaws width allowedCriminal Law Attorneys in Virginiaand localFairfax reckless driving lawyersto raise reasonable doubts. Lack of evidence is one way in which the prosecution's case fails (or fails - nolle prosequi). Suppose the only witness to the accident was the driver, and he makes no confession to the police officer or the police cruiser. In this case, the case for the Commonwealth becomes complex in the absence of evidence proving the cause of the accident under the conditions prevailing at the time of the accident. When an accident occurs in inclement weather, the officer must rely on confessions and testimonies (and possibly other evidence) because he did not witness the accident or the alleged speeding. Missing entries and statements automatically put the public prosecutor in a hole. It doesn't mean you'll automatically win, but it does pose a unique challenge for prosecutors. During cold months when snowfall is more likely, or rainy seasons when visibility is reduced (i.e. fog), some unlucky motorists are caught with this offense faced by class 1. The weather can make the stated speed unsafe. In extreme cases, such as driving 50 km/h below the speed limit, circumstances related to the driver's speed could theoretically lead to a case of reckless driving.
Although it is only a misdemeanor, it carries a penalty of up to a year in prison. What can one realistically expect? There is no one-size-fits-all answer. A call to AFairfax reckless driving attorneyis the first step that should be taken when getting a case of reckless driving. This Fairfax reckless driving fee may differ from a speed-based reckless driving fee. Still, an experienced Fairfax reckless driving attorney like Jad Sarsour, criminal defense attorney, will work with you every step of the way to get your case dismissed. He has worked through numerous cases of reckless driving. Contact us today for advice on avoiding a reckless driving conviction.
Overtaking a vehicle on a crest or an incline
Overloaded vehicle impeding/impeding driver's control
Overtaking another vehicle at a level crossing
No correct signal is given
Failure to give way when merging onto the Autobahn
Passing two vehicles side by side
Two people driving side by side in one lane
Driving over 80 km/h
Negligence can even happen in a parking lot
Reckless driving in parking lots etc.
Don't settle for the average Fairfax County reckless driving attorneys, contact Attorney Jad Sarsour for legal assistance. Of course, nobody's thrilled to see those flashing lights when they're pulled over, but hiring an experienced attorney can give you peace of mind in your case. Additionally, it helps avoid a Class 1 misdemeanor on your criminal record.